Posted by: Lawyer Sanders | August 12, 2008

Lawyer Sanders says 9 NKY cities sign MOU with KDOT to fix congestion on Dixie Highway in Kenton and Boone Counties.

Mayors representing the nine Kenton County cities through which the Dixie Highway runs and the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s (KYTC) District 6 Engineer signed a Memorandum of Understanding
committing them to cooperate in implementing recommendations found in The Dixie Fix Plan.  The cities include Covington, Park Hills, Fort Wright, Fort Mitchell, Lakeside Park, Crestview Hills, Edgewood, Erlanger, and Elsmere.

The Dixie Fix Plan (Dixie Highway Corridor Access Management Redevelopment Plan) is a long range planning approach to relieve congestion problems and provide better access to Dixie Highway. It was conducted to identify transportation planning and design solutions to address Dixie Highway’s informal status as the most heavily traveled and congested arterial in Kenton County. The plan is at

The Dixie Highway provides direct access to a variety of business and institutional facilities for nine cities in Kenton County and one city in Boone County. In addition, it serves as a connector for personal, commuter, and commercial traffic on a local and regional basis. Due to its parallel alignment and close proximity to I-71/75, Dixie Highway is commonly used as an alternate route during interstate incidents or during peak hour interstate congestion. 44 traffic signals and over 400 access points (driveways), combined with narrow four-lane segments that lack turn lanes, contributes to travel delays and high accident rates.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: